Posted by: Renee | February 21, 2012

Mardi Gras

Thanks to my friend Bert for letting me share his inspiring post Mardi Gras…for Baptists

Sometimes I get overwhelmed by the daunting task of making the world, the church, or myself better.  Part of that is due to my long-held assumption that the work requires sacrifice more than celebration.   I didn’t get there on my own, I grew up in a church and live in a world that for centuries has idolized pain at the expense of pleasure and has ruled with fear rather than love.   Now, I’m thinking we’ve been suckered, and I’m not going to play by those rules anymore!   Makes me want to celebrate!!

Responses

  1. Thanks, Renee!


Leave a Reply

Categories

